‘Til the Day I Die

There’s an old story that’s often told of the vikings of ancient history. Vikings were ancient warriors that were known for their grit, strategy, and savagery. It was common to see groups of vikings conquering land after land in the name of self-interest and domination.

In this journey of conquering, Vikings would take ships of men to conquer surrounding lands; much of Scandinavia was separated by bodies of water. It is believed that Vikings would carry a similar sentiment as they set out to conquer the prospective land in front of them.

This sentiment was fueled by the reality that resources were plateauing, winters were becoming more harsh, and birth rates were decreasing in a period of rampant sickness; how important it was to acquire new land and resources for their own sake and their families’ sake!

Vikings started to become known throughout Scandinavia as fearless warriors that would savagely take over land after land. Vikings also started to become known for the commitment to such effort seen in what they would do as they landed on the prospective real estate. These Vikings would burn the boats they arrived in because it would force them to conquer the land overwhelmingly or die trying.

Granted the modern circumstances characterized by medical advances, government regulation, and minimum wage prevent us from killing and conquering one another for the sake of land; however the sentiment to be taken away is this: life is only so long. We only have so long to do the things we love passionately and with excellence. Would the things you’re living for now be worth dying for?

I think of our millenial generation today and am saddened that we are characterized by so much half-heartedness, skittishness, and lack of commitment.

” Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”

-1 Corinthians 9:26-27

I’m constantly fighting two forces within my heart. I want to be everywhere, with everyone, and doing everything. I equally value and desire to be faithful in the few things so that I can be as excellent and high impact in those areas of my life. Are either bad? I think both have high value and different people need to take on those different paths. I think as millenials it would behoove us to heed Paul’s words and apply it to our lives. I don’t want to run aimlessly and ultimately lack self-discipline. I want to take full advantage and dominion over the resources in front of me and create self-discipline for myself so that I can maximize my capacity to be the hands and feet of Christ.

Christ has already chosen us as his beloved people; righteousness has been delivered and sin has been washed away. I don’t feel like I have to earn anything for my life is no longer my own, but I press forward because I have been bought with a price and am fearfully and wonderfully made I beat my body and make it my slave so that God can get the most glory and honor.

Would the things you’re living for now be worth dying for?

Leave a Reply

