You’ll Spend the Rest of Your Life Being Yourself

You are: (insert name here). You can change your name, your facial structure, and even your “gender”, courtesy of Bruce Jenner.

In a world that is constantly changing and reinventing new standards for values and ethics, politics, and everything aesthetic, it can be extremely difficult to navigate the path that we ought to take. In times of hardship we are faced with this decision to do the “right” or “normal” thing. What is that exactly?

What is “normal”? What is the path I should take as a young millenial? The hipsters have made created a movement that says different is the new normal. Is that the path I ought to take? Should I go against the grain in all the areas of life? People have said to be myself and follow my passions. What if those passions are straight up weird, leave me homeless, and disconnected from the ones I love? Is there a do-over?

The prospect of going to University and getting married could both easily fit under these categories of activities we ought to participate in. You could say most of spend our entire lives trying to figure out which of these activities we want to engage in and, more importantly, who we are. What kind of man do I want to become? Who do I want to get married to? What kind of work do I want to do after college?

People die everyday without knowing who they were, what they were meant to do. It’s a sad reality, but some never find what truly makes their heart come alive; some individuals spend an entire lifetime searching, but somehow come up empty.

Let this reality sink in. Most of us all settle into a very similar situation. Most of us end up going to college, getting married, settling into a home, having kids, and the list could go on and on. No matter how hard we fight, our innate, human desires drive us to settle down and go after all the “normal” things of life.

Maybe this bums you out a bit; it certainly does for me. However, I choose to look at these commitments and outfits of normality as mechanisms of necessarily satisfying the human heart. There’s a reason why twenty somethings are able to travel the world, be wild, and live a spontaneous and ragtag lifestyle. There’s also a reason why we don’t see forty-somethings trying to do the same thing. I can’t speak too much on this because I am still in my twenties being a wild and living with reckless abandon; however, I imagine forty-somethings live their lives a little something like this: there are people you love and care about, therefore the sacrifice of giving up personal freedoms to go out and about seem minuscule in comparison of the prospect of getting to spend a lifetime with those you love.

Forty-somethings possess a gift twenty-somethings desperately need. A set of strong values that supersede personal ambition. If you’re a twenty something you might call me out; I would ask that you look at your self for the last decade. What have been the ways you’ve grown internally? Has your heart grown in its capacity to love? Have you grown more patient? Have you developed knowledge and depth of insight? Chances are you have grown in all these internal areas of development.

It’s this same trend of internal development that eventually drives us to hang up the shoes and call it a day. It’s these set of strong values that bring us to the altar to say, “yes” to that special someone and ultimately a slew of other things such as kids and a job you necessarily don’t like, but learn to love because it puts bread on the table.

I think these elements are the beauty of growing up. I don’t know what it looks like to live past the age of my early twenties, but I imagine it’s going to look a lot different than what I previously imagined.

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 3:14

Everyone’s race is going to look different; we know across the board this race is going to look similar for everybody in these various areas:

  1. Difficulty: this race will be tough to navigate and it will be strenuously long
  2. The Prize is going to be worth it: if getting to be with Jesus was not the focal point of my life I would find life difficult to keep pressing on.
  3. Heavenward: the seemingly endless and boring aspects of life that we expect to one day settle in remind us that greater things await us in eternity with Christ Jesus. The marriage we choose to walk in, the friends we choose to link arms with, and the job we work pale in comparison to getting to worship at the feet of the Lamb.

Yes, life may one day get mundane and we shall fight it. However, when we settle and nestle into our future, we can be assured that the prospect of getting to be with the King will fully satiate every desire in our hearts until we one day get to be with the beautiful Maker himself.

Leave a Reply

